REVIEW: David Campbell Sings John Bucchino

 

WORDS BY
Jacqui James

DAVID CAMPBELL HAS a rare quality to sing songs with such emotion and a believability, even with those written for musicals. So it’s no wonder that for this album, David and his long-time friend Broadway composer John Bucchino chose eleven tracks which have bound them together.

The album is David using his versatile voice conveying complete happiness (Taking The Wheel) to utter heartbreak (If I Ever Say I’m Over You) with John’s mesmerising piano capturing the mood brilliantly with each track.

Unlike most albums released these days, David Campbell Sings John Bucchino has a very natural and organic sound throughout the eleven tracks. So it’s refreshing to basically listen David and John sitting in your living room or bedroom performing for you, giving an intimate experience.

David Campbell Sings John Bucchino is released on June 13th, but you can pre-order it on iTunes HERE.

You can catch David and John at these following venues:

Friday 6 June – Brisbane QPAC Concert Hall
Friday 13 June – Adelaide Cabaret Festival
Saturday 14 June – Adelaide Cabaret Festival
Wednesday 18 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Thursday 19 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Friday 20 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Saturday 21 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Sunday 22 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Wednesday 25 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Thursday 26 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Friday 27 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Saturday 28 June – Hayes Theatre, Sydney
Sunday 29 June – Riverside Theatre, Parramatta

 

Jacqui James

I'm an Australian author and music journalist from Melbourne. I've had articles and poetry published in several magazines and newspapers since finishing my Diploma in Professional Writing and Editing in 2001. In 2010 Gigs 'n Interviews was born. I launched it with my first big named interview and that was Vanessa Amorosi and then in 2012 I felt unbelievably privileged to interview Ronan Keating. I'm extremely proud of what Gigs 'n Interviews has become as it's seen as a platform for emerging artists and entertainers to be heard.

Looking forward to writing more children's books, I hope to change the wrong perception of children and adults with disabilities as I was born with Severe Cerebral Palsy (like Christy Brown who wrote My Left Foot). People can view my books at www.jacquijames.net

If you would like to know more about myself, please visit http://www.jacquirogers.com.au/

Thanks for dropping by at Gigs 'n Interviews

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

en_AUEnglish